fbpx
skip to Main Content
February 2021 New Book Releases

February 2021 New Book Releases

February is a month that signifies love, justice and equality.  Many of the children’s books set to be released this month promise to inspire confidence, brilliance and mystery.  Check out some of our top picks for picture books, early readers and middle-grade books released throughout this month.  

 

Brilliant Baby Does Math by Laura Gehl, Jean Claude  (Release date: 2/2): This is a brand new series of board books that explores different topics.  In this book, Brilliant Baby learns how we apply math in our everyday lives.  Pair this with Brilliant Baby Plays Music, also released on February 2nd.  (Ages 2-5)

Stay this Way Forever by Linsey Davis, Lucy Fleming (Release date: 2/23): This is a beautifully illustrated book of love from parent to child. As the mother holds dear to the memories of joy, curiosity, and imagination, she hopes her children will carry those child-like qualities with them as they grow older. She prays they will stay this way forever.  You may enjoy this book if you are a fan of Who Will You Be? by Andrea Pippin or The Day You Begin by Jacqueline Woodson, or  (Ages 4-8)

 

G My Name is Girl: A Song of Celebration from Argentina to Zambia by Dawn Masi (Release date: 2/23): In this empowering alphabet book, girls from around the globe share their name, a unique character trait and their home country.  (Ages 3-7)

 

 

Milo Imagines the World by Matt de la Peña, Christian Robinson (Release Date: 2/2): From the creators of Carmela Full of Wishes and Last Stop on Market Street, this book creates another opportunity to explore community.  In Milo Imagines the world, a young boy lives with his grandmother in NYC.  Each week, he and his older sister travel by subway to visit their incarcerated parent.  During the ride, Milo observes the people on the train and draws a picture of their lives as he imagines them.  This is truly a lesson on not judging a book by its cover. (Ages 4-8)

 

 

She Persisted: Claudette Colvin by Lesa Cline-Ransome (Release date 2/2): We all know the name Rosa Parks. Did you know there was a young girl who refused to give up her seat and inspired Rosa Parks to do the same?  This biography tells the story of fifteen-year-old Claudette Colvin and her choice to stand up for equality and justice in Montgomery, Alabama. (Ages 6-9)  

Simon and Chester Super Detectives by Cale Atkinson (Release date: 2/9): If your child is a fan of DogMan or Captain Underpants, they are sure to love this boy and ghost duo, Simon and Chester.  This is a humorous graphic novel is about the duo becoming detectives and solving a mystery.  While they have different ideas about how to get it done, you’ll enjoy the adventure. If you like this, you might also like the Desmond Cole series or the Mia Mayhem series.  (Ages 6-9)

 

 

Latinitas: Celebrating 40 Big Dreamers by Juliet Menéndez (Release date 2/23): These short biographies of 40 influential Latinas who have and are still influencing the world today. (Ages 8-12)  

The Vanished (Shuri: A Black Panther #2)) by Nic Stone (Release date 2/2): For fans of Black Panther, Nic Stone created a graphic novel about the character Princess Shuri. This is the sequel. In this book, Shuri is determined to figure out what’s happening when several young girls interested in STEM, like her, go missing.  Will she be able to find them?   (Ages 8-12)  

Living the Confidence Code: Real Girls. Real Stories.  Real Confidence.: by Katty Kay, Claire Shipman, Jillellyn Riley (Release date 2/23): The authors of The Confidence Code for Girls, come back to inspire girls to continue living their most confident lives.  This biography collection features today’s brightest, most determined girls around the world, who have used their confidence to make their dreams come true. (Ages 8-12)  

 

What February books excite you?  Drop a comment below.  

You can find these and hundreds of other titles in our Bookshop collections.  We are constantly updating our selections.  Let us know what you want to see more of.  

 

Kanika Mobley

Hi! I'm Kanika. I'm a mother and 20+ year educator. I started my career as a kindergarten teacher and fell in love with helping kids discover their reading identities. As they asked for certain books, I tried with all my might to keep the classroom library filled with high-engaging books that were both mirrors and windows for their experiences.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

[] Back To Top