fbpx
skip to Main Content
Fatherly Love: Books that Celebrate #GirlDads

Fatherly Love: Books that Celebrate #GirlDads

There’s something special about the relationship between a father and daughter. Girl dads can be loving, funny, encouraging, sensitive, and strong. They may be fathers, grandfathers, or father figures. A father’s presence in a girl’s life can help set the foundation for future relationships with other men.

Father’s Day presents the perfect opportunity to celebrate the magical bond between fathers and daughters. So we’ve put together a few books that show fathers inspiring, empowering, and motivating the girls in their lives (and the dads learn a few things too!)

These books can be the perfect gift to make that time together even more special for the whole family.


Board Books

Girl of Mine by Jabari Asim

This companion book shows a dazzling little girl enjoying playtime in the moon’s soft glow. As daddy cradles his baby girl, she is suddenly whisked away on a fantastical adventure, swinging above lush floral gardens under the golden moonlight.

Perfect for ages: 1-4

 


Picture Books

 

Hair Twins by Raahkee Mirchandani

A Sikh father and daughter with a special hair bond proudly celebrate and share a family tradition in this charming story perfect for fans of Hair Love and I Love My Hair!

Perfect for ages: 4-8

 


Daddy-Daughter Day by Pierce Freelon

A celebration of the love #girldads share with their daughters, musician Pierce Freelon’s picture book debut is a joyous anthem brought to life by Olivia Duchess’s beautiful and adorable illustrations.  

A daddy and daughter can’t let this perfect day go to waste—so what will they do and where will they go?

Perfect for ages: 4-8


Alma and How She Got Her Name by Juana Martinez Neal

If you ask her, Alma Sofia Esperanza José Pura Candela has way too many names: six! How did such a small person wind up with such a large name? Alma turns to Daddy for an answer and learns of Sofia, the grandmother who loved books and flowers; Esperanza, the great-grandmother who longed to travel; José, the grandfather who was an artist; and other namesakes, too. As she hears the story of her name, Alma starts to think it might be a perfect fit after all.

Perfect for ages: 4-8


A Morning with Grandpa by Sylvia Liu

Mei Mei’s grandpa is practicing tai chi in the garden, and Mei Mei is eager to join in. As Gong Gong tries to teach her the slow, graceful movements, Mei Mei enthusiastically does them with her own flair. Then Mei Mei takes a turn, trying to teach Gong Gong the yoga positions she learned in school. Will Gong Gong be able to master the stretchy, bendy poses?

Perfect for ages: 4-8

 


Early Readers

 

Nature Lover: Jada Jones # 6 by Kelly Starling Lyons

Spring is springing and Jada Jones is headed outdoors.  On a class field trip with her class and Pop-Pop in tow, Jada is eager to show all she knows. But is she ready for all the things that nature brings?

Perfect for ages: 6-8


Additional Recommended Resources

Kanika Mobley

Hi! I'm Kanika. I'm a mother and 20+ year educator. I started my career as a kindergarten teacher and fell in love with helping kids discover their reading identities. As they asked for certain books, I tried with all my might to keep the classroom library filled with high-engaging books that were both mirrors and windows for their experiences.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

[] Back To Top