fbpx
skip to Main Content

2022 Summer Reading List

I Love Being Me!

Author: Mechal Renee Roe

Celebrate diversity with this bright, joyful level 1 Step Into Reading book that will have girls everywhere repeating the book’s chorus: “I love being me!”

Ages: 4-6

Price: $7.99

Ty's Travels: Beach Day! (My First I Can Read)

Author: Kelly Starling Lyons 

Illustrator: Nina Mata 

Ty turns an ordinary day in the sandbox into a fun beach day. He wiggles his toes in the sand, finds seashells, builds a castle, and splashes in the ocean. Splish, splash! When his neighbor’s beach ball flies into his backyard, Ty learns that a beach day is even better with a friend.

Ages: 4-7

Price: $7.99

She Persisted: Sonia Sotomayor

Author: Meg Medina & Chelsea Clinton

Illustrator: Alexandra Boiger

Through this early chapter book, readers learn about the life of Supreme Court Justice, Sonia Sotomayor.  Check out some of the other notable women figures like Coretta Scott King, Claudette Colvin, Wangari Maathai, Maria Tallchief.

Ages: 6-9

Price: $7.99

$5.00Add to cart

Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School and Other Scary Things

Author: Lenore Look

Illustrator: Leuyen Pham

Alvin is a middle child and is afraid of many things; elevators,  airplanes, tunnels, substitute teachers, wasabi, and school, especially SCHOOL!  This year is different though, it’s 2nd grade.  He HAS to make friends.  But making friends is difficult when you’ve never spoken a single word at school.  

Ages: 6-9

Price: $7.99

$5.00Add to cart

You Can Do It Yasmin!

Author: Saadia Faruqui

Illustrator: Hatem Aly

4 great Yasmin stories packed into this one book. Readers will find Yasmin coming up with creative solutions for any problem she encounters.

Ages: 5-8

Price: $7.99

Welcome to Ryan's World

Author: Ryan Kaji

Join YouTube star Ryan on a tour of Ryan’s World, a place filled with all his favorite things. In Ryan’s World, you can play sports, eat pizza, and pretend to be a superhero. You can even meet Ryan’s friends like Combo Panda and Gus the Gummy Gator!

Ages: 4-6

Price: $7.99

$5.00Add to cart

Stella Diaz Never Gives Up

Author: Angela Dominguez

Stella gets a big surprise when her mom plans a trip to visit their family in Mexico! Stella loves marine animals, and she can’t wait to see the ocean for the first time . . . until she arrives and learns that the sea and its life forms are in danger due to pollution.

Ages: 6-9

Price: $7.99

Sadiq and the Gamers

Author: Siman Nuurali

Illustrator: Anjan Sarkar

Sadiq and his friends are starting a video game club at school. They have fun playing together and planning a tournament for the whole school to participate in. But when their club needs a service project, the club members are stumped. How can they help people with video games?

Ages: 6-9

Price: $7.99

Your Friend, Parker (Ready-to-Read Level 1)

Author:  Jessica & Parker Curry

illustrator:  Brittany Jackson & Tajaé Keith

Parker is writing to her friend, Gia, about the exciting sights she sees during her road trip across America. Even though Parker and Gia are far away from each other, they can still be best friends!

Ages: 4-6

Price: $7.99

Make Way for Dyamonde Daniel

Author: Nikki Grimes

illustrator: R. Gregory Christie

Dyamonde is brilliant, outspoken, curious, and empathetic.  When Dyamonde enters a new school, she longs to find a friend.  Dyamonde is curious about another new kid, Free,  that seems to be a moody, grouchy bully.  She’s determined to figure out what’s his problem.  Readers learn an important lesson about judging a book by its cover. 

Ages: 7-9

Price: $7.99

Astrid & Apollo and the Puppy Surprise

Author: V.T. Bidania

Illustrator: Evelt Yanait

The twins’ birthday is coming! Astrid and Apollo each have a special, surprise gift planned for the other. Astrid thinks she has guessed what Apollo is giving her, but as she puts more clues together, she realizes she’s in the middle of a birthday mystery

Ages: 6-8

Price: $7.99

Nature Lover (Jada Jones #6)

Author: Kelly Starling Lyons

Jada is thrilled when she gets to go on an outdoor class field trip with her Pop Pop, a nature lover, as a chaperone. She can’t wait to show him off to her friends–and show him what she knows. But the trip has some twists along the way, including a soaring zip line she’s not sure she wants to try. What happens when Jada’s shining moment starts to lose its luster?

Ages: 6-8

Price: $7.99

Ling & Ting Not Exactly the Same

Author: Grace Lin

Ling and Ting are two adorable identical twins, and they stick together, whether they are making dumplings, getting their hair cut, or practicing magic tricks. But looks are deceiving–people can be very different, even if they look exactly the same.

Ages: 6-9

Price: $7.99

J.D. and the Hairshow Showdown

Author: J. Dillard

Illustrator: Akeem S. Roberts

At only eight years old, J.D. the Kid Barber has already won a barber battle and appeared on local TV. Now he’s the youngest barber to be invited to the Beauty Brothers Hair Expo in Atlanta! At the show, there are hair classes to take, product samples to try, and some of J.D.’s favorite hair influencers to meet.. But what J.D. is most excited about is snapping a pic with eleven-year-old rap sensation Li’l Eazy Breezy, which is harder than it sounds.  Will he get his chance?

Ages: 6-8

Price: $7.99

The Missing Cupcake Mystery: Ready-to-Read Level 2

Author: Tony Dungy

Illustrator: Vanessa Brantley-Newton

When Mom brings home cupcakes for dessert, all the Dungy kids are thrilled. “These are for after dinner,” she tells the children, and they all agree. But when she opens the box after dinner, one of the treats is gone! Who took the missing cupcake? Justin, Jordan, and Jade all have the same answer—“Not me!” Dad says it’s a real mystery, and that they must all look for the missing cupcake. But Jade has a heavy heart—and cupcake crumbs on her bedroom floor. Was Jade the one who couldn’t wait for dessert? 

Ages: 5-7

Price: $7.99

Juana & Lucas

Author: Juana Medina

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl.  Juana loves many things: drawing, living in Bogotá, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever. She does not love wearing her itchy school uniform, solving math problems, or learning the English. Why is it so important to learn a language that makes so little sense?

Ages: 5-8

Price: $7.99

Mindy Kim and the Birthday Puppy

Author: Lyla Lee

Illustrator: Dung Ho

All Mindy Kim has ever wanted is a puppy of her very own. After all, having all the toy dog plushies in the world isn’t quite the same thing as a real one!  She thinks a dog would be a perfect gift for her upcoming birthday. But her dad isn’t so sure she’s ready for the big responsibility. Can Mindy prove to her dad that she can handle a new addition to the Kim household?

Ages: 6-9

Price: $7.99

Jojo Makoons Fancy Pants

Author: Dawn Quigley

Illustrator: Tara Audibert

First grader Jo Jo Makoons knows how to do a lot of things, like how to play jump rope, how to hide her peas in her milk, and how to be helpful in her classroom.But there’s one thing Jo Jo doesn’t know how to do: be fancy. She has a lot to learn before her Aunt Annie’s wedding!  Favorite purple unicorn notebook in hand, Jo Jo starts exploring her Ojibwe community to find ways to be fancy.

Ages: 6-10

Price: $7.99

Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet

Author:  Zanib Mian

Omar and his family have just moved, and he is NOT excited about starting at a new school. What if the work is too hard or the kids are mean or the teacher is a zombie alien?!

But when Omar makes a new best friend, things start looking up. That is, until a Big Mean Bully named Daniel makes every day a nightmare! Daniel even tells Omar that all Muslims are going to be kicked out of the country . . . Could that possibly be true?

Ages: 7-10

Price: $7.99

Camila the Record Breaking Star

Author: Alicia Salazar

Illustrator: Thais Damião

After reading about kid record-breakers, Camila dreams of breaking a record of her own. But which world record should she tackle? No matter what she tries, Camila finds that breaking records is hard. Will she ever become a record-breaking star?

Ages: 5-7

Price: $7.99

The Magnificient Makers: How to Test a Friendship

Author: Theanne Griffith

Illustrator: Reggie Brown

Perfect for STEM lovers.  When Violet and Pablo discover the Maker Maze, it opens up the door to so many scientific adventures.  Comes complete with activities kids can do at home.   

Ages: 7-10

Price: $7.99

$5.00Add to cart

Power Forward

Author:  Hena Khan

Fourth grader Zayd Saleem has some serious hoop dreams. He’s not just going to be a professional basketball player. He’s going to be a star. A legend. The first Pakistani-American kid to make it to the NBA. He knows this deep in his soul. It’s his destiny. There are only a few small things in his way.  As tryouts for the Gold Team approach, Zayd has to find the courage to stand up for himself and chase his dream.

Ages: 7-10

Price: $7.99

[]

Welcome to

SOCW Rewards

Become a member

Join our loyalty program to unlock exclusive perks and rewards.

Ways to earn

Powered by WPLoyalty

Back To Top